Required update should block further transactions until update is completed and not cause the transaction to fail that is in process.
We have changed our software updating policy. This should no longer happen. As long as you do not close the software you will be able to use the version you are using without updating it.
It's rather irritating to key ina complete transaction only to have the OUCH!!! screen come up and cancel your transaction.